Aim and Topics
Student Session
Important Dates
Organizing Committee
LENLS archives

Logic and Engineering of Natural Language Semantics 12 (LENLS 12)

Workshop Site(s):
Raiousha Building, Keio University
Kanagawa, Japan
Dates: November 16-18, 2014
  • Eric McCready (Aoyama Gakuin University)
  • Daisuke Bekki (Ochanomizu University/National Institute of Informatics/JST CREST)
  • Koji Mineshima (Ochanomizu University/JST CREST)
Invited Speakers:
  • TBA (TBA)

Aim and Topics

LENLS is an annual international workshop on formal syntax, semantics and pragmatics. It will be held as one of the workshops of the 7th JSAI International Symposia on AI (isAI2015) sponsored by the Japan Society for Artificial Intelligence (JSAI).

We invite submissions to this year's workshop on topics in formal syntax, semantics and pragmatics, and related fields, including but in no way limited to the following:

  • Formal syntax, semantics and pragmatics of natural language
  • Model-theoretic and/or proof-theoretic semantics of natural language
  • Computational Semantics
  • Continuations in natural language
  • Game-theoretic/Bayesian approaches to pragmatics
  • Nonclassical Logic and its relation to natural language (especially Substructural/Fuzzy/Categorical/Topological logics)
  • (Formal) Philosophy of language
  • Scientific methodology and/or experimental design for linguistics


Abstracts (anonymous, up to 4 pages, including figures and references, A4 or letter size, with 12 point font) must be submitted electronically in PDF format at:

When the abstract is accepted, the author is expected to submit a full paper (10-14 pages) before the workshop. The proceedings of the workshop will be available at the conference site for registered persons.

Student Session

This year we will organize the Student Session of LENLS 12. We invite submissions from students (i.e., those students who have not received their PhD degree before November 2015). This session will provide an opportunity for students to get feedback from other researchers, so we encourage submission of work in progress. Papers co-authored by non-students may be submitted, but the primary author must be a student who will present the paper. The submission guidelines are the same as those for regular submission as described above. One may not submit the same paper both to the main session and to the student session. Also, students may not submit more than one (single-authored or joint-authored) paper to the student session. Submitted student papers will be peer-reviewed. All accepted papers will be included in the proceedings. The best student paper prize will be awarded.All accepted student papers will be considered for this award. A selection of revised versions of accepted papers will be published by Springer Verlag in Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) series. A limited number of travel grants will be available to those students who are presenting a paper at the Student Session. Authors of accepted student papers will be informed about further details.

Important dates:

Abstract submission deadline:August 15, 2015
Notification of acceptance:September 30, 2015
Deadline for camera-ready copy:October, 2015
LENLS12:November 16-18, 2015


LENLS is being organized by an alliance of "Establishment of Knowledge-Intensive Structural Natural Language Processing and Construction of Knowledge Infrastructure" project, funded by JST CREST Programs "Advanced Core Technologies for Big Data Integration".

Organizing/Program Committee:

  • Eric McCready (Aoyama Gakuin University)
  • Daisuke Bekki (Ochanomizu University/National Institute of Informatics/JST CREST)
  • Alastair Butler (Tohoku University)
  • Richard Dietz (University of Tokyo)
  • Koji Mineshima (Ochanomizu University/JST CREST)
  • Yoshiki Mori (University of Tokyo)
  • Yasuo Nakayama (Osaka University)
  • Katsuhiko Sano (Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Katsuhiko Yabushita (Naruto University of Education)
  • Tomoyuki Yamada (Hokkaido University)
  • Shunsuke Yatabe (West Japan Railway Company)
  • Kei Yoshimoto (Tohoku University)